Hlinka Gretzky Cup, formerly known as the Junior World Cup and Pacific Cup, has been held annually since 1991, with the first tournament being held in Japan. Since 1997, the tournament has taken place in the Czech Republic and Slovakia, although only since 2002 has the tournament been held in both countries simultaneously. In 2018 the name of the tournament was changed to Hlinka Gretzky Cup and is hosted alternately by Czech Republic+Slovakia and Canada.

Involving players under the age of eighteen, the Hlinka Gretzky Cup is the premier showcase for hockey talent from Europe and overseas. The teams that regularly feature in the tournament are: Canada, Czech Republic, Finland, Russia, Slovakia, Sweden, Switzerland and the USA. In the past, the tournament has helped introduce the likes of Sidney Crosby, Evgeni Malkin and Steven Stamkos to the international stage.

The most successful nation at the tournament so far has been Canada, who have won gold a staggering twenty three times in twenty-five attempts. Including the Soviet Union’s 1991 victory, Russia have won gold five times, while Czech Republic, Sweden and the USA have one gold medal to their credit so far.


Year Winner Place State
1991 Soviet Union Sapporo, Yokohama Japan
1992 Canada Tokyo Japan
1993 Russia Yokohama Japan
1994 Canada Mexico City Mexiko
1995 Russia Yokohama Japan
1996 Canada Nelson, Castlegar Canada
1997 Canada Jihlava, Zdar nad Sazavou, Znojmo Czech Republic
1998 Canada Bratislava Slovakia
1999 Canada Havlickuv Brod,Trebic, Znojmo Czech Republic
2000 Canada Kežmarok Slovakia
2001 Canada Kolin, Mlada Boleslav, Nymburk Czech Republic
2002 Canada Breclav/Piestany Czech Republic/Slovakia
2003 USA Breclav/Piestany Czech Republic/Slovakia
2004 Canada Breclav/Piestany Czech Republic/Slovakia
2005 Canada Breclav/Piestany Czech Republic/Slovakia
2006 Canada Breclav/Piestany Czech Republic/Slovakia
2007 Sweden Hodonin/Piestany Czech Republic/Slovakia
2008 Canada Hodonin/Piestany Czech Republic/Slovakia
2009 Canada Breclav, Hodonin/Piestany Czech Republic/Slovakia
2010 Canada Breclav/Piestany Czech Republic/Slovakia
2011 Canada Breclav/Piestany Czech Republic/Slovakia
2012 Canada Breclav/Piestany Czech Republic/Slovakia
2013 Canada Breclav/Piestany Czech Republic/Slovakia
2014 Canada Breclav/Piestany Czech Republic/Slovakia
2015 Canada Breclav/Bratislava Czech Republic/Slovakia
2016 Czech Republic Breclav/Bratislava Czech Republic/Slovakia
2017 Canada Breclav/Bratislava Czech Republic/Slovakia
2018 Canada Edmonton/Red Deer Canada
2019 Russia Breclav/Piestany Czech Republic/Slovakia
2020 Cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic
2021 Russia Breclav/Piestany Czech Republic/Slovakia
2022 Canada Red Deer Canada

Medal table

State Gold Silver Bronze Total
Canada 23 4 1 28
Russia/SSSR 5 4 9 18
USA 1 9 3 13
Czech Republic 1 8 4 13
Sweden 1 3 9 13
Finland 0 2 2 4
Slovakia 0 1 2 3
Japan 0 0 1 1

In brief

Pre-tournament games

21.6. - The final pre-tournament games will be played on Saturday, 29th July. The Czech Republic will host Canada in Břeclav at 18:30 CET, 12:30 ET. Meanwhile, Slovakia will host the USA in Trenčín at 17:00 CET. Coverage of these games will be available at eurolivescores.com/.

Instagram of HGC

1.6. - The official instagram of Hlinka Gretzky Cup is availible here.

Interested in history?

6.2. - Do you know who won the Cup last year? Which team has won the most gold medals? HERE you can review the history.
History of the hockey legend

Information about Ivan Hlinka

More about the legend